Tuesday, September 26, 2023

CCP’s New 13 Artists Named


CCP’s New 13 Artists Named

How do you feel about this story?


THE first ever Thirteen Artists Awards (TAA) online press conference was held today to formally announce the winners of the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ 13 Artists Awardees for 2021.  The awardees are Allan Balisi, Nice Buenaventura, Gino Bueza, Mars Bugaoan, Rocky Cajigan, Geloy Concepcion, Patrick Cruz, Ian Carlo Jaucian, KoloWn, Czar Kristoff, Lou Lim, Ryan Villamael and Catherine Sarah Young.

This year’s selection committee was composed of artists Imelda Cajipe Endaya (13 Artists 1990), Nona Garcia (13 Artists 2003), Nap Jamir II (13 Artists 1974), and Gerry Tan (13 Artists 1988), with Rica Estrada of the CCP Visual Arts and Museum Division.  The jurors went through eighty-eight artist portfolios individually, with the final online deliberations held as a group.

The 13 Artists Awardees will receive a production grant to produce new work for a group exhibition at the CCP.  This year’s exhibition will be curated by Shireen Seno (13 Artists 2018) and the trophy which the artists will receive will be designed by Mac Valdezco (13 Artists 2006).  The TAA awarding ceremony and exhibition will be announced at a later date.

Now on its 18th year of conferment, the CCP 13 Artists Award is the oldest government award for visual artists.  It celebrated fifty years of its founding in 2020, and has named 198 artists as awardees.  Its roster boasts one National Artist and four Gawad CCP awardees.

For more information, contact the CCP Visual Art and Museum Division, Production and Exhibition Department, at email vamd@culturalcenter.gov.ph or through social media pages www.facebook.com/ccpvamd, www.instagram.com/ccpvamd, www.twitter.com/ccpvamd.